Fresh beer from the garden?

Recently a friend sent me a text that said, “Do you want some fresh beer from the garden?”  My initial reaction was, “why, yes, I would love some fresh beer” and “I’d even drink some beer while in the garden” and “what are you raising in your garden, hops & barley?”  But, alas, it was a typo, and he was actually offering fresh beets.  Hmmm, beets.  The only beets that I was familiar with were what comes out of a can, and smells not too appealing to me.  But, I’m willing to try most anything once (within reason!), and I was off to try to cook beets.  As you’ll see from all the food I made that night, I was hedging my bets, and not so sure they’d turn out to be something my family would eat.  🙂

So, this is what they look like from the garden.   Fresh beets, not fresh beer.

Since I was grilling T-bone steaks that night, I decided to grill the beets.

I washed them & peeled them with a knife.

Then I cut them into 1/4″ slices.  Aren’t they pretty? 

Added a little butter (surely butter makes everything good?), and wrapped them in foil.

I put the foil pack on the top shelf of my grill, and just let them cook while the steak was grilling.

Our meal that night – steak with sautéed mushrooms, grilled asparagus with parmesan cheese, green salad, and fresh beets.

I was pretty pleased with how the beets turned out.  The texture was very similar to the artichokes that I steamed the night before.

Leave a Reply

