Pretty Deviled Eggs for Easter

Survey says!

So, I made the dyed deviled eggs for Easter dinner.  Of course, I couldn’t just do them one way, I had to try dyeing them several different ways.  They really were pretty, but a little time consuming so I’ll only do them for a special occasion in the future.

All the different types of dyed eggs on one platter.

Preparing the dye.  I just used 4 mugs.  In each one I put – 1 tsp. of vinegar, 1/2 cup of water, and 3 drops of food coloring (I did red ~ for pink, blue, green, and mixed red & blue to get purple – but the purple wasn’t that pretty).

First – I peeled the egg, and dyed the egg whole – so the outside of the egg white was colored and the inside was white.

Outside dyed, inside white

Second, I tried tie-dye eggs.  I rolled the egg shells across the counter, but then to get the dye to reach the white, I had to pull off the membrane from various areas across the eggs.  Honestly, I found it a little time consuming, and didn’t think they were as pretty as the other ways.

Tie Dyed eggs

Third, I cut the eggs in half and removed the yolks – then I dyed just the whites only.

Coloring the whites only

I think these last ones were my favorite!

***********************************************************************************************

I am going to try something new for Easter dinner and wanted to share the link with you so you could try it too.  I love making deviled eggs.  The twist is that you dye the egg whites.  The picture was so pretty, so I’ll let you know how they turn out for our Easter dinner.  Here’s the link to the article.  I think I’m going to try making some that are dyed solidly and some that look more tie-dyed by cracking the egg shell and dipping the eggs with some shell on the hard boiled eggs.  I’ll post my pictures when they are done!

2 thoughts on “Pretty Deviled Eggs for Easter

Leave a Reply

