Hot Chocolate Treat

Our church’s youth group is raising money to go to New Orleans next summer where they will do service projects to support the on-going clean up.  This will be our oldest son’s second trip to help with the clean-up.  As a fundraiser we’re doing a silent auction basket auction just before Christmas.  Our family donated a basket with the theme of “Keeping Warm” that included a quart of this hot chocolate mixture, our basket raised $32 towards the trip.

So I called my mom (isn’t it great to call your mom for all these wonderful recipes you haven’t thought of in ages?), and got her hot chocolate recipe.  She used to always have this on hand during the cold season.  After we’d work outside, it was a treat to come in and have a yummy hot chocolate to warm up in the afternoon.  I hadn’t had this hot chocolate in years, and it’s even better than I remember.  With the Christmas holiday here, my boys and I are enjoying this tasty treat.

16 oz. powder creamer

16 oz. chocolate powder (like Nestle Quick)

16 oz. powdered sugar

1 box of dry milk to make 8 quarts of milk

4 T. powdered cocoa (like what you use in baking)

This recipe makes about 1 ½ gallons of dry ingredient.  Since it’s such a large volume, I used a couple of gallon size ice cream buckets and put half of each ingredient in each.  Mix well.  I use 4 T. of the hot chocolate mix per mug, but you can use more or less to your taste.

I haven’t tried it yet, but next time I’m going to use a little vanilla powder too.  I might even add a little instant coffee for a more Café Mocha type drink.  Yummy!

 

Leave a Reply

